Just a few words about…USING COUPONS CORRECTLY

15 Mar

I’ve never really talked about this topic simply because it’s been my experience in the past that if someone is going to use a coupon incorrectly, there really isn’t much a stranger can say over a computer that will make said individual stop using coupons in that manner

SAD but true 😦

When I first started my couponing journey, there were very few couponers

Extreme Couponing wasn’t even around

and

most stores didn’t even have “official” coupon policies in place

Boy have things changed since then…2010

Just about every day I can find posts or pictures of people using coupons incorrectly to get items free or dirt cheap

and contrary to popular belief, this type of couponing DOES AFFECT us ALL in the couponing community

and NOT in a good way 😦

Checking out @ the register now takes 10-20 minutes as cashiers go through each and every coupon with a magnifying glass!!

Stricter coupon policies are being put in place

and coupons are continuously being updated to prevent such coupon use

For example: the new 2 bar code system, stricter limits on # of q’s per transaction and shorter expiration dates

Not to mention the fact that good coupons are now harder to find

It seems like most of my inserts have the same frivolous coupons week after week

The good coupons are now printables with 1 print limits

So the point of this post is to make people  aware of the impact that incorrect coupon use can and is having on other couponers

Example: This week I got my RP insert in the mail as usual and in it was this coupon

If you read the coupon, you can clearly see at the top that it states “$1 off any 2 Mars Easter products”

But if you look closer, theres some fine print below the pic (I circled it)

It lists the mars Easter products that you can use this coupon for

I tried to zoom in but the words still came out blurry so I’ll just write out the items it lists:

“M&Ms chocolate candies, M&Ms brand minis chocolate candies, Minis mix variety bags, 3 musketeers, Twix minis, Snickers minis, Milky Way minis, Dove silky smooth eggs brand”

Unfortunately this entire week I’ve been seeing a ton of posts/pics of people buying 10, 20, 30+ of the individual snickers eggs and milky way eggs @ walgreens

I believe these are 2/$1 right now at wags so they’re getting them free with this coupon

However, neither of those chocolates is listed on this coupon 😦

Now,  have I said anything to those I see posting their pics and are providing people incorrect information?

NO

Why not?

Because after all this time couponing, I have yet to see a single person who has been informed of their incorrect coupon use say

“Hey you’re right! Thanks for pointing that out. I’ll be taking these back to the store  since I now know I used my coupons incorrectly.”

HA!! NEVER!

Instead, they go on the defensive and say they’re being attacked and a mob of people jump in to defend the action

Seriously, this is what happens about 99% of the time

Once again, SAD but true 😦

I believe it’s the same as stealing from the store but alas others will beg to differ

There are those who simply don’t read the coupon in it’s entirety (honest mistake)

That is not what i’m talking about here because I do understand that errors in couponing CAN happen

It’s what most (not all) but most people do after they’ve discovered the error that is disappointing to me

Anywho 😉

Thanks for letting me vent(?) a little because after a few years it does tend to irk you to see things like this every other day

Will it stop me from couponing?

NOT LIKELY

I’m going to keep doing my own thing and continue to share my adventures in couponing with you

I just hope that some of what I’ve posted this past year has been of some help 🙂

Leave a Reply

