Homemade Strawberry Jam

14 Jul

Last week I finally got around to hosting the Ball Canning party since I was OOC the weekend it was scheduled to be hosted.

This was my first time canning (a first for everyone who attended too!) and I absolutely ♥ it!

My daughter got to help too, she mashed the strawberries 🙂

It was super easy to make homemade strawberry jam (for complete recipe visit ball canning on FB/online or the recipe is usually on your bottle of pectin).

Ingredients:

4 pints of strawberries

7 cups of sugar

8 tbsp pectin

1/4 cup lemon juice (optional)

We opened up our jar of jam the very next day! My kids ♥ it, especially since they helped make it

The ingredients above were enough to make (6) 16 oz jars of strawberry jam…talk about super Freapy jam!

I gave all my guests jars to take home to try their own canned recipes…my sis made sauerkraut and plans on making spicy pickled cauliflower too…Mmmmm, can’t wait to try that one :p

Canned fruits and veggies make great freapy gifts to put in gift baskets for bdays or Christmas

OR

If you’re just looking to save some $$ on jam/canned fruits/veggies AND want to spend some family fun time with your kiddos, I highly recommend canning!

Leave a comment