COOKING IS DANDY WITH SANDY

29 Jul

Last week I posted my recipe for albondiga soup and mentioned that I might try posting a new recipe of mine once a week from now on. So this week I decided to post my recipe for stir fry chicken 🙂

I’m not a big fan of plain white rice and neither are my kiddos/hubby. So I cook my rice in chicken broth for added flavor 🙂 I know there are some stir fry recipes out there with more “extravagant” veggies in them, but I’m lucky if my kiddos eat the plain old regular veggies like carrots & broccoli…hence the lack of extravagance in my stir fry lol

Stir Fry Chicken

 Ingredients

2 lb boneless skinless chicken breast

4 whole carrots

2 heads of broccoli

2 cups of white rice

1 cup chicken broth

2 cups water

1 cup stir fry/teriyaki sauce ( I used the kikkoman brand since it was on sale)

1/4 chopped onion

4 mushrooms (optional)

1 tsp salt

2 TBSP vegetable oil (my preference but you could use other type)

 Utensils

Knife

Cutting board

Wok or pan

Sauce pan

Measuring cups/spoons

 Directions

First you wash your veggies then dry them off.

Cut your carrots into small 1/2″-1″ pieces & set aside

Cut your broccoli heads off the large stem and chop each head in half (easier for toddlers to eat)

If you opted for mushrooms then dice each mushroom in half (my fam doesn’t like mushrooms, I do, they win…no shrooms in my stir fry *whimper*)

Dice your chicken into small 1″-2″ strips/chunks, season with salt and set aside

Grab your sauce pan and dump your rice in. Pour in your chicken broth & water and place your sauce pan on low-medium heat. Cover with lid and allow it to cook for ~10 min then simmer for an additional 3-5 min or until all the liquid is gone. Remove from heat and set aside

Place your wok/pan on the stove, set stove to medium heat and add the oil. When oil is hot, add your carrots to the pan & cook them first for a few minutes since carrots take a bit longer to cook than the other ingredients.

After a few minutes, add the broccoli, mushrooms, onion and chicken. Make sure you stir your veggies often so they don’t burn. Cook for 10 minutes then pour your stir fry/teriyaki sauce over all the ingredients and mix together making sure that all your ingredients are coated in sauce. Cook for an additional 2 min then remove from heat and turn off stove.

Plate your rice first then add your stir fry on top and you’re ready to eat!!

YUMMO!!!!

Disclaimer: Only adults should be making this recipe as it involves handling a knife, stove and hot food. I am NOT responsible for injury, illness or death as a result of consuming or preparing this recipe…Sorry, but I have to throw this in here since now a days everything seems to need a disclaimer.

Leave a comment