HOW I ORGANIZE MY COUPONS

26 Jun

If you’re new to couponing, one of the first questions you may have is , “How do I organize my coupons??”

There are several different ways to organize your coupons and there is no right or wrong way to do so…the right way is the one that works for YOU!

Below is a list of some coupon organization methods that are popular amongst couponers:

  • Binder
  • File box
  • Coupon bag
  • Envelope
  • Accordion file folder
  • Photo Album
  • Coupon clutch

When I first began couponing, I tried the accordion file folder method

I labeled each tab according to grocery category: dairy, frozen foods, produce…collated (clip multiple inserts at once) my inserts, separated the coupons into grocery categories and threw them in my accordion folder

The problem I had with using this method is that once I got to the grocery store, it was super time consuming to have to look through each category to find the coupon I needed

AND

I found it took quite a bit of time to collate all my inserts

Soon after trying this method, I switched to a hybrid method, using both my accordion file folder and individual ziploc bags with envelopes (at the grocery store) inside to separate coupons I would need for that specific store. I also stopped collating all my inserts & began clipping only the coupons I thought I’d use

There were two things I didn’t like about this method

  1. The envelopes ripped & fell apart fairly quickly
  2. I would miss out on deals (clearance items/unadvertised) because I didn’t clip all my coupons

 Then I received a super wonderful gift from my hubby for Valentine’s day

An accordion file box

(my sis gave me the bumper sticker hehe)

I decided to use this box to file my inserts according to date

Now, I only clip the coupons I think I will use and

 keep the box in my car, just in case I find a good deal at the store…walk outside in a jiffy & grab the insert I need 🙂

I still use the envelope method for each store but I “upgraded” it a tad

I now use these awesome Avery PocketTabs

I received 2 packets of 5 for free from Avery during two of their Facebook giveaways

I really like them!

They’re durable, clear (so I can see my coupons), have an adhesive back (in case I wanted to stick them on the inside of a binder/folder and have tabs that I can label with the name of the store it pertains to

They’re really inexpensive if you were to purchase them: less than $5 for a pk of 5 @ Walmart

Here’s what mine look like

I toss them into my summer tote and head on out to do my shopping…super easy & convenient for me

I used to keep my grocery list & that particular store’s coupon policy in each pocketTab but that got upgraded as well 😉

I now send my grocery list via email to my phone (thanks thecentsableshoppin.com for that feature!) and I have each store’s coupon policy bookmarked on my phone…should I need to quickly pull it up

I utilize my phone a lot when couponing

From checking the blogs/FB to looking up coupons on the coupon database

After almost 2 years of couponing, I really feel like I’ve finally gotten into a good couponing groove!!

And that is ONE of the most important things in couponing…making it doable for your lifestyle

I hope that by sharing how I organize my coupons, others may find an organization method that works for them 🙂

AS ALWAYS, HAPPY SHOPPING!!!

2 Responses to “HOW I ORGANIZE MY COUPONS”

  1. modestmoon June 26, 2012 at 10:37 pm #

    Oh is that what those avery tabs are? I got those free too but never opened them. They look cool. Maybe ill try them instead of my ziploc bags

    • MOM22RN June 26, 2012 at 11:03 pm #

      Yes they’re awesome! I think we got them around this time last year & I finally opened them up this year lol

      Connected by MOTOBLUR™

Leave a comment