RECIPE: Chicken & Sweet Potato Fries

1 May

Here it is!

Simple and easy peasy to make

Last week I purchased some organic green chard and bs chicken @ Sprouts

I also purchased some inexpensive sweet potatoes @ walmart (3lb/99¢)

I’ll be honest, I had never eaten chard before this recipe so I was a little nervous about the taste

But it looked so fresh and green that I had to pick some up

Let me tell you, I’m soooo glad I did!!

If you’ve eaten verdolagas (purslane) before then you’ll ♥♥♥ green chard

Tastes the same 🙂

And we ♥ verdolagas!

We grew up eating them with queso blanco, corn, calabasitas (squash) and tomatoes…YUM!

For this recipe I merely cut up the bs chicken into smaller pieces, added salt & pepper and cooked in evoo on medium heat for 10-15 min until thoroughly cooked

Then I added 2 med tomatoes (diced) and organic chard

Placed the lid on my pan and cooked for an additional 5 minutes

Lastly, I topped it all off with cheese (you can use queso blanco or mozzarella)

I would have liked to add some fresh corn and italian squash as well but I doubt my kiddos would have eaten it if I had overwhelmed the dish with so many veggies…they’re super picky eaters, especially my 3 yo

The sweet potatoes were super easy to make as well

I just peeled 2 med sized potatoes, diced them, added some salt and cooked in evoo for 10 min over medium heat

Very yummy!!

You can also bake them in the oven if you’d prefer

Just a heads up, the cacique cheese coupon is still available to print if you haven’t printed it yet

Makes for some fairly inexpensive queso blanco 🙂

One Response to “RECIPE: Chicken & Sweet Potato Fries”

  1. Modestmoon May 2, 2012 at 12:46 am #

    Never heard of Chard. Looks good though.

Leave a comment